Strange Occurrence with a Random Bum.

By Dirty Dan

So, last night, on my walk to the train, I had to detour through one of those tunnels that go under construction sites.  There is this huge hotel being built, so they make pedestrians walk under the construction so that in the event that something falls (lately, cranes in New York City tend to collapse when God farts).  Anyway, I was walking through, and all of a sudden, I heard this whistling.  I rounded a corner to find a- what seemed to be homeless- man sitting next to his worldly possessions, whistling the song ‘Silver Bells’.  

Now, seeing how this is more than two weeks after Christmas, I figured that this guy was a little off kilt.  So naturally, the whistling got to me.  I started whistling too.  ‘Silver Bells’.  Equally as loud as I walked by.  He didn’t even flinch.  I was not scared, but rather apprehensive to look and see his reaction, so I didn’t.  But as I walked on, the strangest thing happened.  Someone else joined in.  And then two more people.  Almost everyone who was walking under this site, for that split second, joined in a (mediocre at best) rendition of some old Christmas song.  In January.

I don’t know why I felt the need to share this, but it was strange, and fascinating.  It was also very cheesy.  Not so much dirty, well, other than the homeless man who looked rather scuffed up.  I recommend trying it out sometime.  The next time you hear someone whistling, or humming; even if it is a homeless man, or a crack whore.  Do it to connect with someone you wouldn’t normally connect with.  We’re all people, and we’re all in this together.

Crack is Whack Small

Speaking of crack whores.  I came across this RANDOM blog yesterday while I was bored and googling random words and phrases.  I don’t know why I do that, but I guess it keeps more of my interest than news media and celebrity crotch shots.  Apparently, this guy who lives in Washington D.C. was looking out his window into the alley behind his apartment, and he came across two crack heads engaging in all sorts of sex, drugs, and sloppy holes.  Very, VERY Dirty!

Leave a Reply

