A Dirty Recipe to Liven Any Party.

By Dirty Dan

bean-dip

I was feeling crafty yesterday in anticipation for the NFL Playoff games which I was going to a friend’s apartment to watch.  Naturally, you are supposed to bring something when you go to someone’s house; be it alcohol, food, etc.  While I was wandering aimlessly through the supermarket (I am not, by any means, a chef, but I do consider myself a connoisseur of Mexican food), I decided to make a 7 Layer Bean Dip.  Now, I’m not exactly sure if there are seven actual layers, but it sounded good.  It was also inspired by a dip I recently had at a local burrito shack, of the same name.  Here is, as I recall, the recipe for my bean dip that will BLOW YOUR MIND!  

Dirty Dan’s Seven Layer Bean Dip

1 can Goya Black Bean Soup

1 Jar of Salsa (preferably a salsa with beans, corn, jalepenos and cilantro.  if you can’t find one of those, any will work fine).

1 Bundle of fresh cilantro

1 can of diced jalepenos, or 2-3 fresh jalapenos.

1 Tbsp of Chili Powder

2 cups of shredded cheese (preferably Mexican or Nacho flavored)  

 

Preheat the oven to 350º.  If you have a blender or food processor, throw the diced jalepenos, cilantro and chili powder in and make a cilantro-based pesto.  My girlfriend has made this as a marinade for chicken before, and that is great as well, if you like cilantro.  In an oven-safe serving dish, pour in the black bean soup.  Next, add the cilantro-based pesto, then the salsa.  Stir everything together until nicely blended.  Add in the cheese and continue mixing together.  Once you are content with the blend of all flavors, place the dish in the oven for about 23-25 minutes.  This dip is served at room temperature, but cooking it for that short period of time seems to fuse all of the flavors together into a magical taste that goes well with tortilla chips.  Serves 6-8 people.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

